What are the Chakras?

In a nutshell, the Chakras are the seven areas in which energy flows through our bodies. They are located along the centerline of our anatomical structure, and each plays a unique role in keeping our lives balanced.

The Sanskrit word “Chakra” translates to mean “wheel,” which provides an accurate visual of how our Chakras work. As energy flows through our bodies, it causes each of the Chakra “wheels” to spin. When all seven Chakras are spinning in harmony, we find ourselves at peace, balanced, and whole. However, if one of the Chakras is spinning too quickly or too slowly, we must identify the cause and do our best to bring that energy back to its optimum flow.

Through our 200-Hour Teacher Training program, you will learn how to balance your Chakras through diverse, effective yoga practices. You will learn not only how to identify Chakra imbalances, but also how to heal, empower, and regulate each of your seven energy flows.

Before you can begin to work with your chakras, it is important to first understand each of your seven energy flows. We will start from the bottom up.

Root Chakra – Muladhara

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine (near the tailbone) and is the Chakra that keeps you grounded and supported. You will find that when this foundational Chakra is balanced, you feel connected to your personal human experience and at peace with where you stand in terms of physical necessities like money, food, and shelter.

Sacral Chakra — Svadhishana

Just below the belly button, you’ll find the Sacral Chakra. This Chakra houses the energy that allows you to enjoy the human elements of life, and motivates you to indulge in pleasurable activities. When this Chakra is balanced, you’ll find yourself enjoying the pleasures of life like sex and good food, without over-indulging in them.

Solar Plexus Chakra — Manipura

Located between your belly button and ribcage, your Solar Plexus Chakra is the driving energy behind confidence and control over your life. When this Chakra is balanced, it provides a sense of wisdom and personal power, and it is often referred to as the Warrior Chakra.

Heart Chakra — Anahata

As its name suggests, the Heart Chakra is located right over your heart, and its energy allows you to feel both love for yourself and others. When your Heart Chakra is balanced, it allows you to continue to be compassionate and kind, even in the face of adversity.

Throat Chakra — Vishuddha

The Throat Chakra reaches from your heart to the base of your eyes, and its energy allows you to communicate with love, compassion, and truth. When this Chakra is balanced, it allows you to communicate your feelings, as well as your personal truth and wisdom.

Third Eye – Ajna

Your intuition, imagination, wisdom, and decision-making skills are powered by the Third Eye Chakra, which is located in between your physical eyes. This Chakra allows you to see past the physical elements, and make informed, enlightened decisions when it’s appropriately balanced.

Crown – Sahaswara

Pure, conscious energy flows through your Crown Chakra, which is located at the top-center of your head, beginning at your eyes and radiating upward. This Chakra may be the hardest to define, as achieving a balanced Crown Chakra is the ultimate goal of any yoga practitioner, but once balance is achieved it is said to be equivalent to reaching Nirvana.

It should be noted that this is a very basic overview of the energy forces within all of us. By diving more deeply into the Chakras, whether through your personal practice or through a teacher training, you will learn things about yourself and radiate energy in ways you never thought possible. We encourage you to embrace your energy, and we hope you will share your wisdom and love of yoga with us during a teacher training or workshop at Asheville Yoga Center.